29 March 2009

J. Codec - The Assurance Of Tomorrow

The Assurance Of Tomorrow is a progressive electro mix recorded on 29 March, 2009. This set was inspired by the kinds of shows I've been playing lately: gigs in Hollywood at clubs frequented by Eastern European expatriates. That crowd digs a more progressive sound than I usually play but they really know how to party so I don't mind.

This set shows how J. Codec does progressive - with a heavy dose of bass, electro, and some breaks for good measure. The name comes from a quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson: "Progress is the activity of today and the assurance of tomorrow."
  1. Justin Timberlake - What Goes Around Comes Around (Sebastien Leger Remix) [Zomba Records]
  2. Sebastien Leger - Sun [Mistakes Music]
  3. Jerome Isma-Ae - Smile When You Kill Me [Jee Productions]
  4. Deadmau5 - This Noise (Deeper Logic Mix) [Play Digital]
  5. HippE - Major Waves (John Acquaviva & Olivier Giacomotto Remix) [Hardplace]
  6. DJ Dan - Illectrolingus (Gutter Mix) [In Stereo]
  7. Leko - Conscious Mind feat. Lollievox (Noel Sanger Remix) [Tharsis Records]
  8. Kostas Skretas - Tears On The Leaf (Lank Remix) [Dark Pleasure Records]
  9. D.Ramirez - With Me Or Against Me feat. TC [Toolroom Records]
  10. Faithless - Bombs (Benny Benassi Mix) [Sony BMG Music Entertainment (UK) Ltd.]
  11. Who's Who - Klack (Inpetto Remix) [Size Records]
  12. Jimmy Van M - My Eyes Part 2 feat. Steve T & Marc Mitchell (Dibby Dougherty Remix) [Proton Music]
  13. Amo, Navas, D-Nox & Beckers - Memory Cell [Fresco Records (Spain)]
  14. Mason - The Ridge (Tommy Trash Remix) [Great Stuff Recordings]
  15. Laidback Luke - Hypnotize feat. Steven Granville [Stealth Records (UK)]
  16. Pryda - Miami to Atlanta [Pryda Recordings]
  17. Deadmau5 - Ghosts 'N Stuff [mau5trap Recordings]
  18. Agent K & Bella - Sierra Leone (The Phat Riderz Remix) [Digital Records]
  19. Dave Spoon - Bad Girl At Night feat. Lisa Maffia (Beat Vandals Remix) [Toolroom Records]
  20. Macca - Backtrack (Hatiras & Adam K Dirty Mix) [Blow Media]
  21. Diamond Cut - Teardrops (Treasure Fingers Filter House Remix) [White Label]
  22. Mason - Exceeder [Middle Of The Road Music]
  23. Wally Lopez - Patricia Never Left The House (Amo & Navas Knockout Rework) [The Factoria]
  24. Midnight Juggernauts - Dystopia (Turkish Prison Remix) [White Label]
  25. Yuksek - I Could Never Be A Dancer [Has Been]
J. Codec - The Assurance Of Tomorrow [Download]

14 March 2009

J. Codec - Can't Sit Still

Can't Sit Still is a quirky fidget and electro house mix recorded on 14 March, 2009. I had been collecting and playing a lot of quality tracks and hadn't put out a new mix is a couple of months so that's what this mix is all about. I didn't use any of my usual tricky filters or effects which gave me plenty of space to perform lots of slick crossfader manuvers.
  1. Mr Miyagi - We Gonna Give You The Lesson [White Label]
  2. Rudenko - Everybody [Data Records]
  3. Jak-Z & Scott Cooper - Move Ya (HiJack Remix) [White Label]
  4. DJ Sneak & Herve - Droppin Kisses feat. Kid Infinity (Herve Club Mix) [C2 Records (UK)]
  5. Alex Schmitz - Beat Goes Boom (Stupid Fresh Remix) [Bombsquad Records]
  6. Basement Jaxx - Take Me Back To Your House (Speaker Junk Remix) [XL Recordings]
  7. Foamo - Rockerman (Lee Mortimer Remix) [Wearhouse Music]
  8. Brad Slims - Kill The System (Stupid Fresh Remix) [Prompt Digital]
  9. Jack Beats vs. Dynamite MC - What (Vocal Mix) [Cheaper Thrills]
  10. B. Rich - Everyday Hustle (AC Slater Remix) [White Label]
  11. Donald Glaude & DJ Dan - Stick Em (TJR Remix) [In Stereo]
  12. Jelo - Awesomesauce (Twocker's GTI Remix) [BugEyed Records]
  13. CJ Bolland - Sugar Is Sweeter (Twocker's Respek To Van Helden Mix) [White Label]
  14. The Loose Cannons - WHYD4ML (Stupid Fresh Remix) [White Label]
  15. Streetlife DJs - Bassline Kickin' [Street Beats]
  16. Happy Murder Music - Ghost Sex [Infinitum Records]
  17. Wolfgang Gartner - Hook Shot [Kindergarten]
  18. Hadouken! - Crank It Up (Noisia Remix) [White Label]
  19. DJ Wool - The Star Of East Berlin (Sharkslayer Remix) [Plant Music]
  20. Bass Kleph - Bump Uglies (Stupid Fresh 'Wizards In Oz' Remix) [Vacation Records]
  21. Foamo - Movin' It Over Here (Stupid Fresh Remix) [Cubism]
J. Codec - Can't Sit Still [Download]